← Back to Arc Publications

Hello! My name is…

If you would like to introduce yourself to the rest of the community, please do! Any and all information about yourself is welcome but never required.

I’ll kick it off. My name is Ben Styles, I work at Arc Publications, and I built this forum (with a lot of help from Discourse)! I like double IPAs, Chinese cinema of the 80s, functional programming, political poetry and anything Spanish. I have lived in Leeds for 8 years and I spend as much time as I can in the Yorkshire Dales.

Hello, hello. My name is Paris Morel, I’m a poetry addict, lover of mythology and surrealist obsessive. Most of my time is spent selling daffodils, promoting events and reading Dylan Thomas in bed. Quotes by Emerson, Lorca and Dickinson tend to improve my day.

Hi, my name is Jean Boase-Beier and I’m a translator of poetry from (and sometimes into) German. I am Translations Editor for Arc, but most of the time an academic. I work on the translation of Holocaust poetry. I like Yorkshire, Real Ale, poetry (and I agree with Paris about Dylan Thomas) and especially the poetry of Paul Celan. I was born in Huddersfield but now live in Norwich where it’s nice but very flat.

Hello, My name is Lawrence Schimel. I translate primarily from Spanish, occasionally from Galician as well. I also write in both Spanish and English, in a wide variety of genres (particularly poetry and children’s books of late).

My translations of individual poems have been published (or are forthcoming) in many journals in the UK & USA, such as MODERN POETRY IN TRANSLATION, POEM, AGENDA, STRUCTO, PLEIADES, TALISMAN, etc.

Books of poetry I’ve translated include: LIGHT’S VOLITION by Luis Armenta Malpica (Mantis/BookThug), EYES ALREADY RUINED by Luis Aguilar (Libros Medio Siglo), MONTERREY: A SAMPLER OF POETRY (UANL) & BOMARZO by Elsa Cross (Vaso Roto, forthcoming).

I was born in New York but have lived in Madrid, Spain for nearly 16 years now.